What Do I Need To Know About DUI Laws in Arizona?
If you are a resident of Arizona or if you are just visiting the area, you need to know about DUI laws in Arizona. After all, Arizona has some of the strictest DUI laws in the state and with those laws come some very harsh penalties. An Arizona DUI conviction can haunt you for years to come. So, before you get behind the wheel after having a drink in Arizona, you need to know what can happen to you if you are convicted of a DUI. As a zero-tolerance DUI state, you can be arrested even if your BAC is lower than the legal limit. As long as the arresting officer believes you are intoxicated, you can be charged with DUI. The legal limit is .08 percent.
What Are The Penalties For Arizona DUI Charges?
If you have a BAC of .08 percent or higher, you will definitely be arrested and charged with DUI. There are three different kinds of Arizona DUI, with BAC levels, previous convictions, and if minors were passengers in the vehicle being taken into consideration. The more serious the DUI charge, the greater the penalties and punishment.
Even your first Arizona DUI will have pretty harsh punishment. You can expect to spend 10 days in jail, pay out $1,500 in fines and then cover the cost of installing an interlock ignition advice and its monitoring fee for 12 months. You will be required to go to drug and alcohol screening and counseling and you have your driver’s licensed suspended for either 90 days or revoked for a year. As you can expect, the penalty for a second DUI is even greater. A second offense will lead to a one-year revocation of your driver’s license, fines of about $3,500, 90 days of jail with eligibility for home detention after six days, jail and home detention costs put the interlock device installation and monitoring fees, mandatory drug and alcohol screening and counseling, use of an ignition interlock device for 12 months, and 30 hours of community service.
What Does Arizona DUI Law Say About Extreme or Super Extreme DUI?
If you are facing your first offense extreme DUI, which is because you have a BAC of .15 or higher, you can expect fines of about $2,780, 30 days in jail with home detention eligibility after two days, mandatory drug and alcohol screening and counseling, installation and monitoring charges related to an ignition interlock device, 12-month use of an ignition interlock, and a 90-day suspension of the driver’s license. For a second offense extreme DUI, the jail time is 120 days with home detention eligibility after 24 days in jail, fines of about $3,740, jail and home detention costs, the fee for installing and monitoring the ignition interlock, drug and alcohol screening and counseling, a one-year revocation of driving privileges, 12-month use of interlock device, and 30 hours of community service.
If you are caught driving with a BAC of .20 or higher, you are facing charges of super extreme DUI. Your first offense will get 45 days in jail with home detention eligibility after three days, fines of $3,240, jail and home detention costs, installation and monitoring fees for an ignition interlock, 18-month interlock device use, drug and alcohol screening and counseling. Of course, a second offense super extreme DUI warrants more penalties, including 180 days of jail with home detention eligibility after 36 days, $4,650 in fines, a one-year revocation of your driver’s license, jail and home detention costs, interlock device installation and monitoring charges, 24-month use of an interlock device, and 30 months of community service.
Now that you have read the need to know about DUI laws in Arizona, you should know that it is a zero-tolerance state. Contact experienced DUI lawyer if you are charged with DUI in Arizona.