How Much Jail Time for DUI in Arizona?
Anyone arrested for DUI in Arizona is going to spend at least one night in jail. The law is structured so that all DUI offenders, regardless of the level of the offense, will spend at least one day in jail. Technically, you can be ordered to serve ten (10) consecutive days for a first offense. However, your drunk driving defense lawyer in Arizona will do their best to make sure that doesn’t happen.
It Depends on the Type of DUI
Arizona law breaks DUI offenses down by the defendant’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Your run-of-the-mill DUI is considered a standard DUI. This is for anyone who’s arrested with a BAC of .08. If a person’s BAC reaches the point where it’s .15, the offense will be deemed an extreme DUI. An extreme DUI carries a stiffer penalty than a standard DUI. Just as a super extreme DUI is more serious than an extreme DUI. A super extreme DUI is when someone is caught driving with a BAC of .20 or higher. Sadly, there are a lot more of these than you may think. You don’t want this to happen to you. If you’re charged with super extreme DUI, you’ll be facing 45 consecutive days in jail and fines of at least $2,750. You’re also going to be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Your Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer in Arizona Will Fight for a Reduced Sentence
In Arizona, there are minimum mandatory jail or prison sentences for a DUI conviction. Even for standard DUI, first time offenders have to serve a minimum of ten (10) consecutive days in jail. The amount of time required in jail increases with each level of DUI. If you’re unfortunate enough to be convicted of aggravated DUI, you’ll likely be spending some time in prison. And if you don’t follow the judge’s instructions about drug and alcohol counseling, your prison time will be at least two (2) years. There won’t be anything your drunk driving defense lawyer in Arizona can do to change that.
Every Case is Different – Hope for the Best and Prepare for the Worst
It’s important to know that the judge does have discretion when it comes to sentencing. As long as you weren’t arrested and charged with aggravated DUI, you may be able to make a deal with the judge. If you agree to maintain an ignition interlock device for a period of twelve (12) months, the judge may be willing to reduce your sentence. The possible reductions are as follows:
- Standard DUI – from 10 days to 1 day
- Extreme DUI – from 30 days to just 9 days
- Super Extreme DUI – 14 days instead of 45
Clearly, staying out of jail should be the most important thing. Furthermore, for anyone convicted of DUI in Arizona, the judge is probably going to order an ignition interlock device anyway. It may make sense to just volunteer for it and get the lighter jail sentence. Your drunk driving defense lawyer in Arizona will work this out with the prosecutor and the judge.
Call and Speak with an Experienced Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer in Arizona
If you’re arrested for DUI, you may not know what to expect. Unless you or someone you’re close to has been through it, you shouldn’t have any reason to know how it works. That’s why it’s in your best interest to call and talk to an experienced drunk driving defense lawyer in Arizona. They can review your case and meet with the prosecutor. They’ll stand up with you at your first appearance. You won’t have to worry about navigating the criminal justice system all by yourself. Call our office and speak with one of our staff who can connect you with a skilled drunk driving defense lawyer in Arizona.